Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 21.07.2018 02:49

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Lapping Celeron 300a
PostPosted: 02.02.2002 15:38 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 02.02.2002 15:33
Posts: 1
I have lapped my Celeron 300a. It wasn't stable in 450mhz at 2,3v. But after I've lapped the core and heatsink it's stable at 450mhz av 2,3v.

Must be a "bad" cpu "becouse" people have often just have to set the FSB at 100 Mhz.


Thanks to this site ( :) ) i lapped my Celeron 300a. It wasn't hard at all...

_________________
I'm from sweden and my english isn't so good. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 04.02.2002 03:44 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 26.01.2002 10:43
Posts: 21
Location: usa
good job

(i couldn't think of anything else to say)

_________________
A geek going as a fictional geek imitating a geeky superhero as drawn by a geek. I want pictures.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 21:36 
Interesting story about polishing the top of your CPU.

FYI, the top part that you polished is not called a "core." It is called a "lid." The lid is welded onto the ceramic package, to cover the cavity where the silicon die is mounted inside. Also, the weld creates a hermetic seal, so you need not worry about getting water on it.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20.07.2002 13:28 
I have the same cpu but my one has 466 mhz . can i do it with this cpu?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20.07.2002 13:43 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
If it has that shielding plate go ahead. Shouldn't be a problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23.07.2002 14:25 
If you want a flat surface after your lapping process make sure you don't use a back and forward motion or a left to right motion. Tthis is because your hand/arm movement will naturally make the item slightly convex. In the past I've had to polish metal samples for micro analysis, the best method is to use a figure of eight pattern. This ensures that the direction of travel is constantly changing and tops convexity. Also you don't get scratches running in a single direction.

lego man


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 23.07.2002 14:29 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Good to know. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08.08.2002 21:51 
Too bad you can't take the gpu of a videocard :x
to lap it, you have to take the sandpaper and rub it onto the gpu, which is not as handy as rubbing a cpu on a sand paper mounted on a flat surface...
manybe anyone has tips for this?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Lappig
PostPosted: 29.08.2002 20:16 
Can you lap an AMD Athlon XP without shield???


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 29.08.2002 21:00 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Nope, you shouldn't do that because there isn't heat spreaders in these processors. Material is also too soft so it will only damage the core.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: as above
PostPosted: 31.08.2002 21:32 
if it helps - use these grades to get a MIRROR finish instead

400 800 1000

and i usually use a rouge paper BUT it will leave a polish on it

i work on brass antique music boxes all day see


flapper@seatcupra.net

as for the mouse fan and all the rest FAIR PLAY MAN LOL


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.09.2002 06:48 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 11.09.2002 20:13
Posts: 127
Location: California
I love the idea of this mod, but i wonder if a emachine motherboard can even allow OC. Anyone may know anything about OC the emachine either internally or externally? If so I'd like to OC my old 366
laterz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12.06.2003 22:10 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 24.10.2002 23:16
Posts: 241
Location: California
i guess i cant lap my 2400+, but is it OK for me to lap my heatsink? its the one that comes in the retail box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12.06.2003 22:18 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Yes, you can lap the heatsink and in many cases you should. The procedure doesn't that long time and cooling perfomance can be boosted by few degrees. But if you do it sloppy, the performance can go down too. Just be carefull.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Stupid Q-tion
PostPosted: 26.06.2003 20:08 
I'm reading all of this, but I dont think I get the right translation of the word "lap". Are you saying that I can speed up my processor>? If I'm wrong plz tell me :)~ could I speed up 333 processor into a 433 or smth like that>?

Thank you,
Phaeton


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group