Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 25.06.2019 21:18

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 02.04.2003 03:58 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 02.04.2003 03:49
Posts: 1
i have two led's,both the same. 1.6v, 1.2A, what do i do to find the needed resistor? its for my mouse with 5v


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 02.04.2003 04:27 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 01.01.2003 04:47
Posts: 85
Location: Duluth, MN, USA
First, you should look at this.
http://www.metku.net/index.html?sect=view&n=1&path=mods/sahkooppi/index_eng

1.2A? is that right? it might be 12 mA or .012A.
That would seem more reasonable.

You could wire them in series. 1.6+1.6<5
So the resistor needs to limit the voltage to 3.2v by taking away 1.8v.
If the ampreage rating is 12mA you'd need a 150 ohm resistor.
1.8 / .012 = 150

You should check the rating on the LED, 1.2A is a lot for a LED.

_________________
If it ain't broken, mod it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 02.04.2003 18:27 
Offline
Senior Modder
Senior Modder

Joined: 06.08.2002 14:46
Posts: 259
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
If the led really does use 1.2A then you can't use it in the mouse.

_________________
Image
www.rautermods.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 04.04.2003 04:56 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 01.01.2003 04:47
Posts: 85
Location: Duluth, MN, USA
I find it hard to belive that a LED could require 1.2A of power. If it did I don't see why you couldn't.

1.8 / 1.2 = 1.5 ohm resistor
1.8 * 1.2 = 2.16 watt resistor

I don't even think you can get a 2 watt resistor.
1.2A really doesn't sound right, most only use 0.02A.
I don't want to repeate myself or sound so persistant but I just cant believe they are 1.2A LEDs. I hope Japala reads this. I'm stumped.

_________________
If it ain't broken, mod it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08.04.2003 05:00 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 08.04.2003 02:51
Posts: 4
Location: \Belgium\Ieper
abreev8 wrote:
I find it hard to belive that a LED could require 1.2A of power. If it did I don't see why you couldn't.

I don't want to repeate myself or sound so persistant but I just cant believe they are 1.2A LEDs. I hope Japala reads this. I'm stumped.

I also think so, 1.2A is just... impossible

doublecheck your LED's dude :-)

_________________
www.[M]adshrimps.be


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08.04.2003 14:55 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 25.09.2002 22:16
Posts: 235
Location: Ilomantsi, Finland
or then just so #"#¤@* big led, that really uses 1.2Amperes :lol:

_________________
Life is a Bitch...Get used to it


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group