Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 31.05.2020 06:37

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 29.12.2002 22:11 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.12.2002 05:23
Posts: 5
Location: west
i have used the multimeter and come up with some voltages, but not sure if i found the ground. i am using a microsoft mouse with a microsoft ic on the mouse. i put the meter on the ic pins one at a time with the ground on a screw on the computer case. found one pin with something close to 5 volts. and another one with slightly under negative voltage. if anyone could help me with this that would be great.


thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 29.12.2002 23:18 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
When you open up your mouse you should see the connector connecting the mouse cord to your mouse. Put your multimeter's ground wire to that black wire in that connector and use the meter in ohm setting. Then touch those IC's pins and see what gives you 0 ohms. That means it is 100% conductive to that connector and it might be a good candidate for a ground pin.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 29.12.2002 23:54 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.12.2002 05:23
Posts: 5
Location: west
the connector only has a white, blue. orange and yellow wire coming off of the ps/2 cable?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.12.2002 01:07 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Use the multimeter to check the cable:

http://www.metku.net/mods/modlab/connectors.png

Place the other end of the meter to that ps2 (or usb) connector gnd and then test which wire is it on that connector inside the mouse.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.12.2002 01:39 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.12.2002 05:23
Posts: 5
Location: west
sorry but i didn't quite understand your last reply. u said to use the ps/2 ground, how can i get to that ground if the cable is plugged into the port my multimeter has dc volts, ac volts, resistance and continuity and a diode please help i don't want to blow anything thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.12.2002 01:53 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Unplug the connector first. :) Then look at that connector and look it as a mirror image compared to that ps2 port on your computer and in that diagram. Then find that ground pin and place the other multimeter wire there. Then use that ohm setting or continuity test to see where that wire leads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.12.2002 05:48 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.12.2002 05:23
Posts: 5
Location: west
that did the trick thanks for all the help and taking the time to explain everything to me. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group