Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 17.11.2019 11:29

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Secondary LCD Display
PostPosted: 09.03.2004 16:27 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 16.07.2003 05:56
Posts: 55
I know that I've brought this up many times over the past few months, but I'm considering to save up for like a 4-5" LCD to implant into the front of my computer. What I want to do is run it off my secondary display adapter and have it reserved for things like the system tray and Winamp/visualizations. I could run it on 640x480 or something. Getting the LCD and the setup is easy. Getting the LCD controller isn't. If anyone could direct me to the cheapest LCD controller they could find, I'll attempt this.

_________________
New Laptop Stats!
P4 2.8 HT
512 MB 2700 DDR
60GB HDD
Radeon 7000 (wince)
802.11 b/g/super g
DVD-ROM/CD-RW

Main Comp:
P4 2.4
1gb 2100 DDR
DVD+RW drive
80gb hdd
Case with a BUILT IN HANDLE!
Assorted lighted fans and CCFL
Radeon 9200 128mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09.03.2004 16:40 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Those small 4-7" TFTs have usually composite video input. That means that you can use your display adapter's tv-out to show information on the display. Cheapest way and doesn't need any additional adapters or controllers.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09.03.2004 19:49 
Offline
Super Modder
Super Modder

Joined: 22.01.2004 05:30
Posts: 1146
Location: Johnstown PA
yea. i've been looking in to getting one of those for my rig. You cna find them for like 150ish so i am looking still for something cheaper. But yea like Japala said, composit video in is the cheapest

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09.03.2004 22:55 
Offline
Ultra Modder
Ultra Modder

Joined: 09.06.2003 08:30
Posts: 1592
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
chek ebay. heres a pretty cheap one for ps1. its even got speakers too.

_________________
Image
-=-LSDiodes-=-

Xxcr4shxX: w/e
Crash2108: we?
Xxcr4shxX: what ever
Crash2108: no, tell me what w/e is first


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.03.2004 05:16 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 16.07.2003 05:56
Posts: 55
Well, I dunno. I don't think TV display supports the secondary display. Unless there's some sort of converter I can get that just converts the VGA to RCA. That would be a snap.

_________________
New Laptop Stats!
P4 2.8 HT
512 MB 2700 DDR
60GB HDD
Radeon 7000 (wince)
802.11 b/g/super g
DVD-ROM/CD-RW

Main Comp:
P4 2.4
1gb 2100 DDR
DVD+RW drive
80gb hdd
Case with a BUILT IN HANDLE!
Assorted lighted fans and CCFL
Radeon 9200 128mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.03.2004 08:01 
Offline
Super Modder
Super Modder

Joined: 22.01.2004 05:30
Posts: 1146
Location: Johnstown PA
oh your card doesnt have tv out............just get a real cheap pci video card w/ TV out. That would probably be the cheapest

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.03.2004 13:57 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 16.07.2003 05:56
Posts: 55
I have TV out. It's just that you can't set the TV out as a secondary display. I have a VGA, S-Video and a DVI. I can use the DVI for a secondary display (I have a DVI-VGA adapter).

_________________
New Laptop Stats!
P4 2.8 HT
512 MB 2700 DDR
60GB HDD
Radeon 7000 (wince)
802.11 b/g/super g
DVD-ROM/CD-RW

Main Comp:
P4 2.4
1gb 2100 DDR
DVD+RW drive
80gb hdd
Case with a BUILT IN HANDLE!
Assorted lighted fans and CCFL
Radeon 9200 128mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.03.2004 14:45 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Hmm, I thought that most cards can strech the desktop so that the other part is on the tv-out... I believe that I have tested this with my 9700pro but perhaps I need to test is again to make sure. :)

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.03.2004 18:01 
Offline
Super Modder
Super Modder

Joined: 22.01.2004 05:30
Posts: 1146
Location: Johnstown PA
my TI 4200 stretches the desktop for the TV out. I would rather there be 2 seperate desktops so that i can set up divx and things on the TV that i want only on there. ya know.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 04.06.2004 14:57 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 16.07.2003 05:56
Posts: 55
Well, this is a bump, but I've figured out TV-out works with the dual display. One of my friends is doing the PS-One monitor mod with his new Lian-Li (lucky bastard...). Anyway, when I get the money, I might do that.

_________________
New Laptop Stats!
P4 2.8 HT
512 MB 2700 DDR
60GB HDD
Radeon 7000 (wince)
802.11 b/g/super g
DVD-ROM/CD-RW

Main Comp:
P4 2.4
1gb 2100 DDR
DVD+RW drive
80gb hdd
Case with a BUILT IN HANDLE!
Assorted lighted fans and CCFL
Radeon 9200 128mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 07.06.2004 01:30 
Offline
Super Modder
Super Modder

Joined: 22.01.2004 05:30
Posts: 1146
Location: Johnstown PA
I ove those mods using the little PS one LCDs and such. Their awsome.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08.06.2004 05:20 
Offline
Ultra Modder
Ultra Modder

Joined: 12.08.2003 04:52
Posts: 1633
Location: Maine
yeah the ub3r 1337|\|355 meter is through the roof, plus they have a purpose

_________________
Image

Praetorian wrote:
Nearly every finnish child can read and speak finnish, so it's very easy... :P


www.lsdiodes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08.06.2004 16:32 
Offline
Veteran Modder
Veteran Modder

Joined: 18.08.2002 22:38
Posts: 501
Location: Indiana, USA
i still want one, it would go well with my lain li also :D

_________________
Image
and if you dont like it then to bad


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08.06.2004 21:35 
Offline
Ultra Modder
Ultra Modder

Joined: 12.08.2003 04:52
Posts: 1633
Location: Maine
my case is gonna be way 13373r than your -li

_________________
Image

Praetorian wrote:
Nearly every finnish child can read and speak finnish, so it's very easy... :P


www.lsdiodes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08.06.2004 21:38 
Offline
Veteran Modder
Veteran Modder

Joined: 18.08.2002 22:38
Posts: 501
Location: Indiana, USA
im not using my li for much longer im making a wood/plexi/alum case

_________________
Image
and if you dont like it then to bad


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group