Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 16.09.2019 01:44

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 18.07.2002 23:39 
At first some words of true RESPECT !

I've seen that Cryo Mod and i was so amazed that i started
looking around for an old mouse to mod ...

but all i found was a Logitech-Mouseman-Sensa which has lots of space inside :wink: ...

and that mouse is a serial one !!! First tests showed that even red and green LED's are very dark :( !

So the question is how much voltage comes with the com-port ???
and is it possible to mod some superbright blue LED's in anyway ???


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 00:44 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
The serial mouse operates with 12 volts. That voltage is usually dropped for IC's but it is there. This should be enough for every led around. ;) You just have to find the correct pins. And remember to calculate that current limiting resistor. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 11:12 
Thanx so far :!:

But are you sure its having 12V all the time :?:

I thought the 12V come only for peripherals which need that much...

As far as i know the hardware connected to the port tells the port how much voltage it needs :?: :?: :?:


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 11:15 
Oh well...

and what about the current (10mA ?)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 11:47 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
I don't think that you can say to serial port, hey! I want 5 volts now.

MadMarc, superbright leds usually take 20-30 mA. You should read my basic electricity for modders. Explains these things.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 22:59 
Oh man i was reading these basic things for 5 times now ...

but thanks anyway next week i'll get a Multimeter and i'm back in business :!: :wink: :!:


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 23:04 
I know how much current the superbright ones have...

I just thought that the serial port only provides 10mA.

So your point is that it's definetly no problem to mod a serial mouse too, right ?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 23:11 
Allright, it's me again !

By the way excellent and fast support you offer Japala :!: :D


when will be the next release date for a new HQ-Mod :?: :oops: :?:


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.07.2002 23:19 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Don't have the date, sorry. I have many smaller mods in my mind but they are not worth publishin yet so I'm waiting for a bigger inspiration. :) Hope that doesn't take too long though. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20.07.2002 19:37 
I hope so, too :!: :!: :!:

Now i have a multimeter and i measured the serial mouse
and yes i have 12V indeed (but no current ???) !!!

So why are the led's not as bright as with the PS/2 port (5V)?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20.07.2002 19:42 
Hey what about a serial to PS/2 adapter ?

would that work ?


(I hope I'm not too anoying :oops: )


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20.07.2002 20:07 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
No current? How did you determine that? :) You just can't connect the multimeter to the same spot with current measurement mode as you do with voltage mode. If there is enough kick with the feeding power source it will fry your multimeter because meter in current measurement mode looks like a short circuit with 0 resistance so there will be the same current through the meter as it would be if you would place a straight wire between those points.

Did you place that led to those wires that come from the computer or to some logic circuit? If you measured from the logic circuit you may have found datapin that uses 12 volts to send data. It's not constant 12 volts although meter would state that. Just keep looking. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21.07.2002 15:19 
Allright so how do i measure then :?: :?: :?:


(i took from the wire and no logic circuit...)


Thanks for your strong nerves :!: :!: :!:


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21.07.2002 15:31 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Don't have any serial mices here to check this myself. Just keep trying to find correct pins.

About that current measurement. You have to place that multimeter in series with the component who's current you want to measure. If you have for example a led and resistor connected in seris like in my Logomouse circuit you just take that resistors leg off from the IC's leg and place a multimeter in between. Meter will then tell you how much current flows between the led and resistor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21.07.2002 15:41 
I have just remembered how we used to do it in school (don't tell anybody that I study Computer Sciences :oops: )

I was just dumb...

Now I measured it correctly but there is only a very low current (0,02mA)

i tried every f***ing pin there was !


But again thank you so much. (hope you won't kick me out of the board someday :wink: )


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group