Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 23.09.2018 02:07

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem NOT ANY MORE
PostPosted: 09.04.2005 19:48 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
Problem. My computer doesn't recognize my ps/2 mouse after i connected a led to it.
Image
This isn't a linear connection, is it?
What's wrong, what should i do?
I'm desperate.....actually not.. :roll:

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Last edited by Luury on 12.04.2005 19:23, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09.04.2005 21:17 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
I believe you are taking power from wrong wires. If you connect the led to a data wire, the led will shine but the data going through that wire will not be valid. What are the colors of the wires on that ps2 cord and what wires you used?

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09.04.2005 23:21 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
yellow ; white ; blue ; green ; red ; brown

I used white and red because somewhere in this forum i read that wires nr 3 and 4 are the power.. and in the picture there was 2nd wireas from both side and i tested and the LED worked so i didn't expect nothing else to happen. I don't have the tester so i cant 'test' which wires are correct ones.

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09.04.2005 23:24 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Six wires... and you are sure this is PS2 and not serial mouse?

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.04.2005 07:36 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 29.03.2005 22:36
Posts: 106
Location: California CPU: AMD 700Mhz RAM: 512 Megs HDD: 50 gigabytes GFX: ???????? Monitor: 14" CRT
maybe two of the wires are "dead"...

try tracing the underside of the mouse chip to a capacitor or something polarized... then you should at least find the ground... and from there you'll probebly be able to find the positive 5V...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.04.2005 10:03 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
I belive it's the ps2. But what's the difference between PS/2 mouse and a serial mouse? I think i just connect the mouse to the computer and start testing. If the led shines and mouse works, i've found coürrect wires.

p.s.it's not an optical mouse.

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.04.2005 10:32 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Yes, you can do this kind of testing to see what wires are correct ones. There is no danger of short circuit and the led should survive the wrong polarity of 5 volts for short period of time.

guitarockerk suggested that you find a capacitor on that circuit board and follow the wires on the board to the ps2 cord. This way you can quite easily find on the + and - wires.

In this image the black cylinder with silvery top is a capacitor. I know that the left side of it is negative (-) side because in the picture one can see a gray strip going along side of the cap and it contains a row of - marks. In this case the blue is + and green -. Led is connected in parallel to a component that is located between these + and - sides.

Image

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.04.2005 11:12 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
I don't know why but it looks like i've always known that 2 middle ones(blue and green) are the right ones. Gonna try and if works, i'll let you know.

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10.04.2005 12:30 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
shiiiiiiiiiiiiitttt blue and green didn't do anything, but brown and yellow made a LED shine but it was so not-bright. I tryed without a resistor and it was the same. So i tryed with red and white again. With the resistor it shined normal/bright but without resistor i burnt my LED(wohoo i bought 2, just in case). I don't know why i tryed it without the resistor.
And i couldn't figure your(Japala) picture out and didn't understand ANYTHING about
Japala wrote:
find a capacitor on that circuit board and follow the wires on the board to the ps2 cord. This way you can quite easily find on the + and - wires.

In this image the black cylinder with silvery top is a capacitor. I know that the left side of it is negative (-) side because in the picture one can see a gray strip going along side of the cap and it contains a row of - marks. In this case the blue is + and green -. Led is connected in parallel to a component that is located between these + and - sides.


Do i need to isolate the wrong wires because smth started to smoke when i tested it and i belive 2 wires were connected.


btw.. here's the picture.
Image

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11.04.2005 16:22 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
OK i found a capacitor and tryed and it worked, LED shone. But i coulnd'nt trace it to the wires. Got lost somewhere in the middle for about 10 times.

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11.04.2005 16:41 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Connect the led/wires to the same solder points that the capacitor uses. No need to trace back to the cord...

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11.04.2005 18:53 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
This should be a linear connection..right? Ii'll try but the inside of my mouse is a real mess when i finish with it. :P

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12.04.2005 19:25 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
Well, guess what..it's not a linear connection!! And it worked, the LED and the mouse. thaaaaaaaaaaaank yoooooooouu. Tomorrow i can cut the plexi at the right size and soon i'll finish this.
p.s.It's gonna be yellow light instead of blue. :D

_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 16.04.2005 09:12 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 30.03.2005 18:38
Posts: 26
Location: Saku, Estonia
guitarockerk wrote:
maybe two of the wires are "dead"...



yup. I found this.


a link what Olli gave wrote:
The PS/2 mouse connector has the following pinout when looking at the connector on the back of the computer:

6 Pin PS2

1 DATA
2 No connection
3 GND
4 +5V
5 CLK
6 No connection




_________________
"Once i saw a goblin shouting at a thunderstorm. He lost that argument pretty quickly."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group