Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 14.12.2017 07:19

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 15.12.2002 19:20 
i was wondering :idea: buying a uv light for my room or computer i found one 15" Black light Rod it cost's $42 dollars is that much or low price is it cool to put 1 of these inside my comp :)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15.12.2002 21:42 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 25.04.2002 10:06
Posts: 152
Location: Los Angeles, USA
If you are looking for a UV light rod, I would go with a cold cathode tube. You can find some for $15-20 with a dual inverter made to go in your computer. I would not put the one for normal room use inside your computer because of the heat involved and at $42 it is a lot more money. For that price you could get two CCFL lights.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 16.12.2002 19:04 
Offline
Senior Modder
Senior Modder

Joined: 06.08.2002 14:46
Posts: 259
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
I got one uv-cathode. It's a really cool light it emits :) Try writing something on a paper and then light it up with the cathode...niiiice :P

Here's a question: What does the inverter do? Does it only lower the volt, or does it sends some special pulse-energy?

_________________
Image
www.rautermods.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 16.12.2002 23:05 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 25.04.2002 10:06
Posts: 152
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Rauter wrote:
Here's a question: What does the inverter do? Does it only lower the volt, or does it sends some special pulse-energy?

In the computer the PSU changes the incoming 120v(60Hz) US, about 220(50Hz) in most other countries, of AC into the 5-12v of DC the computer uses, so the inverter will have to change that back into something the cathode can use, so would most likely be a step-up inverter. I don't think it is any 'special' energy pulse, but more of just switching the energies involved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 17.12.2002 15:24 
Offline
Senior Modder
Senior Modder

Joined: 06.08.2002 14:46
Posts: 259
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
so it must change it back to AC, 'cause normal cathodes uses AC-power

_________________
Image
www.rautermods.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 17.12.2002 21:44 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 25.04.2002 10:06
Posts: 152
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Rauter wrote:
so it must change it back to AC, 'cause normal cathodes uses AC-power
Yes, it is changing it back into AC. I don't know the stats of exactly what the cold cathodes run on, but you get the idea of what it is doing.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group