Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 21.07.2018 02:41

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I need help...
PostPosted: 04.04.2005 06:08 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 29.03.2005 22:36
Posts: 106
Location: California CPU: AMD 700Mhz RAM: 512 Megs HDD: 50 gigabytes GFX: ???????? Monitor: 14" CRT
I'm trying to make a mod that blinks three Red LEDs with a potentiometer as a "speed" controller but it doesn't work... :cry:

heres the schematics that i drew...

http://kwolf.bravehost.com/Pictures/blinker.jpg

I think it might be the 555 chip thats not getting enough energy to work cause of the potentiometer but I'm not sure... :? the 555 needs 4.5V to work... my source is 5V...

could someone please tell me the things wrong with fixes for them... thanks...

P.S. I'm running it off of a USB port so i can only get 5V...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 04.04.2005 08:06 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
This is a good page to start:

http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/gadgets/555/555.html

There is an image of an metronome circtuit. It shows you how you need to connect that potentiometer to get the timebase of the 555 to change. Just connect it to 5 volts and it should work just fine. Just replace that speaker with some leds. :)

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 04.04.2005 17:29 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 29.03.2005 22:36
Posts: 106
Location: California CPU: AMD 700Mhz RAM: 512 Megs HDD: 50 gigabytes GFX: ???????? Monitor: 14" CRT
that looks almost exactly the same... it just has a resistor thrown in and the potentiometer conected at a different spot... (which is still connected on the same "line")

ohhh well... thanks...

I'll try it but i think I'll run into what ever problem i was running into before...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06.04.2005 04:43 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 29.03.2005 22:36
Posts: 106
Location: California CPU: AMD 700Mhz RAM: 512 Megs HDD: 50 gigabytes GFX: ???????? Monitor: 14" CRT
I had this freaky dream were I doubled the value of the capacitor... so now i'm wondering, what would that do to the circuit?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06.04.2005 06:26 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
It will slow down the clockrate. Same as the increasing of the resistance value would do. There is a max. limit to the values so you can't just add more and more to make it slower but this is something that you need to test yourself. Caps and resistors are cheap so buy different kinds and test them out to see what combo is the best for you.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06.04.2005 17:16 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 29.03.2005 22:36
Posts: 106
Location: California CPU: AMD 700Mhz RAM: 512 Megs HDD: 50 gigabytes GFX: ???????? Monitor: 14" CRT
ok thanks...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15.01.2008 10:16 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 26.05.2007 10:06
Posts: 128
Location: Texas
I know it is now 2008 and I can't help it, but can you tell me if you solved your problem. Or do you even remember this project.


Thanks,


Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group