Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 22.09.2018 12:36

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 13.02.2006 16:57 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 13.02.2006 16:55
Posts: 1
Great mod!! I think you did a wonderful job. I have a question. What is that other really flat looking keyboard next to the monitor in some of the screenshots? I really think that is a nice looking keyboard, and I'd like to get one myself! :)

Thanks!

MutedEcho


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15.02.2006 07:04 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 15.02.2006 07:00
Posts: 2
hey, i was wondering if LED lights are useable by the household current..110v

i'm sure there would be resistors needed but could anyone tell me how it could be done?? i'd appreciate it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15.02.2006 07:25 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 11.09.2002 20:13
Posts: 127
Location: California
LOL LOL LOL :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

An LED on an AC power source??? You would like to put 120v through it?

Its not possible without a mini DC converter. AC is a completely different type of electricity. Besides the voltage, it is a different waveform that alternates directions very fast. Thus the name AC "Alternating Current"

anyways, you can't do it with AC power alone.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15.02.2006 09:56 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Actually, it is pretty simple to use a led with mains voltage. What you need is basically a single capacitor.

http://www.marcspages.co.uk/tech/6103.htm

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15.02.2006 10:11 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 11.09.2002 20:13
Posts: 127
Location: California
Amazing, I didn't know that was possible. The diodes create a one way path for electricity to get to the leds. But I guess it removes 1/2 of the amount of time from the led being lit up.

But with the Cap, the energy may stored.

I guess this means don't listen to me when it comes to electronics.
:P

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15.02.2006 20:26 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 15.02.2006 07:00
Posts: 2
:D thank you for your help japala

edit: thats pretty confusing >_<


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 17.02.2006 08:00 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 17.02.2006 07:42
Posts: 1
I was wondering if you found a lot of glare with the acrylic covering the screen?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 17.02.2006 15:15 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder
User avatar

Joined: 07.02.2006 21:31
Posts: 51
The acryl is no more reflective than a screen of an 'crystal bright' laptop display. Someone might find it disturbing but I'm okay with it. Another addition: the red leds can be switched off...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01.03.2006 05:37 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.03.2006 05:34
Posts: 1
Is there any way to re-enable the buttons? You are right, the power-on is automatic but I'd like to be able to hit the 'auto' button to re-center the image if I change resolutions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01.03.2006 17:20 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.03.2006 15:55
Posts: 21
Location: UK
It looks awesome! The light is a really nice touch, it would be cool to try it with a tricolour LED so you could change colour to your mood, a bit like that philips (?) tv thing.
How much work would it be to relocate the controls so they face downwards? that way they'd be easily hidden.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 05.03.2006 22:15 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder
User avatar

Joined: 07.02.2006 21:31
Posts: 51
Buttons are fully functional, they are placed behind the screen just because i rarely use them. It would be pretty easy to move them to the downwards facing edge of the panel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06.03.2006 02:59 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 06.03.2006 02:08
Posts: 3
hey there!

amazing mod!

i wanted to ask...

how are you powering the LEDs?

r u taking power from the built in monitor power supply?

if so cld u tell me how u did it cos im hoping to do the same!

thanks!

tanv.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 24.06.2006 14:42 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 24.06.2006 14:13
Posts: 3
Location: Spain
hello, great mod! I'm looking forward to making one myself.
could you give some dimensions of the acryl parts?
also how did you connect the LED's?
and lastly, what did you mean by "I had to use some sandpaper on painted areas to get a proper signal grounding for the each part."
you mean that where the pcb touches the metal it had to be without paint to conduct electricity?

and again, great mod!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 24.06.2006 18:26 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder
User avatar

Joined: 07.02.2006 21:31
Posts: 51
Well, the metal cover surrounding electronic parts inside was grounded maybe to reduce noise etc. When I painted the metal parts the backside of the monitor was not grounded anymore so I sanded some 'spots' that cannot be seen when looking outside.

The main acryl covering the panel measures 380x280x4mm. The base part which is 10mm thick measures 230x150mm. 2 vertical pieces are 220x100x4mm and 190x100x4mm. Base is made out of lexan due to some forces bending it. I dont want to see that breaking up :D

I am not so good at electronics and when I was able to do the mod without breaking the panel I decided to make sure the lighting will not affect the panel anyway. I have external ac adaptor for the led's and the adaptor connects to the monitor through 3,5mm mono audio plug. The lexan base part has also a hole for a led, but I have not placed any led there yet. I am planning to change all leds to white.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01.07.2006 12:53 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 24.06.2006 14:13
Posts: 3
Location: Spain
thanks all I need!
by some weird reason i posted here again but the forum posted it somewhere else...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group