Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 28.05.2020 17:36

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: programe q.
PostPosted: 04.10.2006 21:37 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.10.2005 14:52
Posts: 24
1.
is it hard to write a programe to the lcd?

i've have made a programme that can control leds via the parallel port, its it hard to contiune to make a lcd programe?

2.
i found alot comands in the .txt files like
0x18, 0x14, 0x12, 0x7F, 0x10 , // 4
how should i send information like that to the parallell port?

3.
cause now im sending numbers, 1-225
like if i take 5, 0101 in binary it will make the first and third led to light
is it about the same for the lcd, or are it not nere it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 04.10.2006 23:06 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
When you send data to the parallel port by using 0-255 you are saying the same stuff that other send by using hexadecical modes; 0h-ffh . You can try this with your windows calc program. Just enter the scientific side and enter something when the radio button is set to dec. Then just select hex and the decimal value you just entered is now shown in hexadecimal. It is the same reading but just shown differently. Next to this binary code so 0 - 255 is 0000 0000 - 1111 1111. Again, the same data but just shown different way.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 04.10.2006 23:17 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.10.2005 14:52
Posts: 24
so this is in hex?:
0x18, 0x14, 0x12, 0x7F, 0x10 , // 4

but how do you send this inforamtion

is 0x18 for one pin and 0x14 for another one ect
but you only use 3 data pins on the parallel port :S


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 05.10.2006 07:26 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
That is because the data is send in serial bit by bit. One pin on the parallel port is used as a clock pin and one as a data pin.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 05.10.2006 10:21 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.10.2005 14:52
Posts: 24
o, whats the third pin used for then?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06.10.2006 00:20 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 01.10.2005 14:52
Posts: 24
whats the third pin for??


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group