Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 23.10.2018 17:31

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Important questions
PostPosted: 02.01.2003 03:28 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 01.01.2003 04:47
Posts: 85
Location: Duluth, MN, USA
What's the voltage and current coming out of the 4017? Is it the same as the +5V you hooked it up to or does the resistor affect it? What LEDs (rate?) did you use in the example so the end resistor was 220?

_________________
If it ain't broken, mod it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 02.01.2003 10:15 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Yes, those lines will follow the source voltage so with 5 volts they should output 5 volts and with 10 they should give out 10 etc.

I really don't remember the ratings for those small red leds. I think that I calculated the circuit to operate with 10mA for each line because that was the max. rating on some datasheet but those values varied with different modes.

You should try google with words: 4017 datasheet and you will get all the info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11.05.2003 20:36 
Actually Japala, it looks to me like you've calculated your outputs for 15 mA. That's of course assuming:

Vcc = 5V
Vf LED's = 2V


If there's an associated drop from the 4017 though (which would be need to be around 1V) then you're supplying the LED's with 10mA.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 13.01.2008 22:04 
Offline
Ultra Modder
Ultra Modder

Joined: 09.06.2003 08:30
Posts: 1592
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
japala wrote:
Yes, those lines will follow the source voltage so with 5 volts they should output 5 volts and with 10 they should give out 10 etc.



aight, so 5 in = 5 out, and 10 in would = 10 out, would 3.3 in = 3.3 out??

_________________
Image
-=-LSDiodes-=-

Xxcr4shxX: w/e
Crash2108: we?
Xxcr4shxX: what ever
Crash2108: no, tell me what w/e is first


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 13.01.2008 23:19 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
http://www.uta.edu/student_orgs/hkn/decade.pdf

As this is cmos chip, the output voltage should follow the chip's operating voltage. This is confirmed in the datasheet if I'm reading it right... ;) Note that the output is only capable of driving the loads with few milliamps. Use a driver chip or transistor on the outputs to control higher loads.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group