Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 24.07.2014 23:01

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 5VCD LED in mouse?
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 01:23 
Is it possible to place a 5VCD LED in my IntelliExplorer 3.0 ??? Or do I need a "weaker" one..? :roll:


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 02:06 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
It is possible. Basically that means that you don't need to use current limiting resistor like you need to do with these lower voltage rating leds. Everything else is the same.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 03:21 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 30.10.2003 01:49
Posts: 6
Location: Sweaden
Ok, can I just change the current LED (the red one in the back) without a resistor to? BTW This site rulez :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 03:37 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Because the led is rated to 5 volts and the highest voltage that you can find inside the mouse if 5 volts you are safe to replace any led you like. There is still one thing to remember. Because the reqular red tail led needs less voltage than the led you are planning on using the brightnes of that blue led will not be as high as it could be with its rated voltage. I would imagine that it will light up but you need to test it yourself if it provides enough light for your purposes. If not, you need to route this +5 volt from somewhere else inside the mouse but that is totally new story. Test 1:1 replacement first and we'll see how it goes.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 03:40 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 30.10.2003 01:49
Posts: 6
Location: Sweaden
OK!! thx alot japala! :D :P I'll buy a couple tomorrow I think :P thx again and keep up the god work :wink: :!:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 09:00 
Offline
Super Modder
Super Modder
User avatar

Joined: 29.09.2003 10:58
Posts: 953
Location: Brisbane, Australia
would changing the red laser LED to UV work?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 16:00 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 16.07.2003 05:56
Posts: 55
Unfortunately, no. It works, but it's very unresponsive. You can do it, sure, you'd have an optical mouse that doesn't do anything.. You could do a half-Cryo mod or something for a window and use a UV led on the inside after tracing the chips and jumpers and stuff with gel pen. Read jalapa's mod here. Who knows? Maybe combining mods is the next big thing?

_________________
New Laptop Stats!
P4 2.8 HT
512 MB 2700 DDR
60GB HDD
Radeon 7000 (wince)
802.11 b/g/super g
DVD-ROM/CD-RW

Main Comp:
P4 2.4
1gb 2100 DDR
DVD+RW drive
80gb hdd
Case with a BUILT IN HANDLE!
Assorted lighted fans and CCFL
Radeon 9200 128mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30.10.2003 16:08 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Nice idea but there are very few mice that are usable in this kind of mod. The traces are usually towards the table so you wouldn't see any of them through the window. Some more advanced mice with RF components have more electronics and there maybe a daughter board on top of the "motherboard" and it may have these traces facing up. Something that I need to check.

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31.10.2003 04:37 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 16.07.2003 05:56
Posts: 55
I'l give it a try anyway. Microsoft mice beg to be modded. Well, wish me luck.

_________________
New Laptop Stats!
P4 2.8 HT
512 MB 2700 DDR
60GB HDD
Radeon 7000 (wince)
802.11 b/g/super g
DVD-ROM/CD-RW

Main Comp:
P4 2.4
1gb 2100 DDR
DVD+RW drive
80gb hdd
Case with a BUILT IN HANDLE!
Assorted lighted fans and CCFL
Radeon 9200 128mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31.10.2003 07:05 
Offline
Ultra Modder
Ultra Modder

Joined: 09.06.2003 08:30
Posts: 1592
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
my wireless mouse has a daughter board on the motherboard and on mine the traces are on top of the daughter board.

_________________
Image
-=-LSDiodes-=-

Xxcr4shxX: w/e
Crash2108: we?
Xxcr4shxX: what ever
Crash2108: no, tell me what w/e is first


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31.10.2003 08:56 
Offline
Super Modder
Super Modder
User avatar

Joined: 29.09.2003 10:58
Posts: 953
Location: Brisbane, Australia
good luck.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 02.11.2003 07:33 
Offline
Ultra Modder
Ultra Modder

Joined: 09.06.2003 08:30
Posts: 1592
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Imma try that with an old ball mouse that i got. ill put a window in it, and use the 2 uv leds that i ordered from LSDiodes. then i guess use some uv paint or highlighters, just take some white sticky labels, put that over the pcb and draw with the highlighters.

_________________
Image
-=-LSDiodes-=-

Xxcr4shxX: w/e
Crash2108: we?
Xxcr4shxX: what ever
Crash2108: no, tell me what w/e is first


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group