Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 23.08.2014 00:36

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Questions, comments?!
PostPosted: 15.08.2010 18:14 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Image
Image In English
Image Suomeksi

Questions, comments?

Kysymyksiä, kommentteja?

_________________
Metku | AlltheMods | LedCalc | Teknolelu | AndroidCoding
Main Computer: Intel i5, MSI H55M-ED55, 12 Gigabytes of DDR3, 3 Terabytes of HDD, GTX295 and Benq 27"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15.08.2010 21:55 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 17.03.2009 00:00
Posts: 33
Very nice work and really good looking IRL, unfortunately didn't have a chance to try it out :( What's the average age of the games in the emulator? Are all the games originally from arcades or is there like NES, SNES, Genesis etc. games in it too?

Oh by the way, what is MAME short for?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15.08.2010 22:01 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
The Maximus Arcade front-end can work with multiple emulators. There are emulators for different systems like NES, SNES, Atari, Segas etc.

Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16.08.2010 01:40 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 16.08.2010 01:37
Posts: 2
Mistä tälläiseen saa hankittua pelejä?

Onko pelit freewarea vai saako jotain pakettia ostettua missä on kaikki?

Hämärätouhua en harkitse joten sen suhteen jää projekti tekemättä jos näin on.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16.08.2010 07:34 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Netistä löytyy sekä laillisia, että laittomia ROM-imageja peleille. Ilmaisien tapauksessa lisenssi sallii yleensä vain henkilökohtaisen käytön.

http://www.eightyeightynine.com/games/robby.html
http://www.gaelco.com/english/pages/hab ... hablan.htm

Ja windowsille on sitten näiden lisäksi saatavissa arcadepelipaketteja, jotka eivät käytä MAMEa vaan toimivat suoraan käyttiksestä:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/search?ie=UTF8 ... ative=9325

Myynnissä on myös joystickejä, jotka on tarkoitettu kytkettäväksi suoraan televisioon. Nämä pattereilla monesti pelaavat peliohjaimet pitävät sisällään erilaisia arcadepelejä mutta saatavilla on sitten myös lapsille suunnattuja eri teemoilla. Puisen laatikon voi tällaisen ympärille rakentaa myös varsin kätevästi.

Ja mikään ei estä rakentamasta kabinettia esimerkiksi pelikonsolin ympärille. Vanha NES/PS2 tai modernimpi Xbox360/PS3 sopii tähän vallan mainiosti. Tällöin voit pelata kaikkia omistamiasi pelejä ilman ongelmia. Tässä varsin hyvin dokumentoitu buildi konsoliohjaimen muuttamisesta arcadeohjaimeksi:
http://slagcoin.com/joystick/pcb_wiring.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16.08.2010 12:25 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 16.08.2010 01:37
Posts: 2
Ok, eli tälläisen rakentaminen toimiston odotushuoneeseen ei tule kysymykseen.

Kotiin kyllä voisi yrittää jonkinlaista rakennella :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17.08.2010 22:18 
Offline
Regular Modder
Regular Modder

Joined: 11.09.2002 20:13
Posts: 126
Location: California
Japala, I applaud you! Just masterful fabrication work everytime!

My favorite part is easily the exterior design. Such as the hinged backdoor, the mirror finished wood, the LCD data screen, and the overall size.

I'm curious to see how this can be taken a few steps further. Like a xbox emulator with a USB input for an xbox controller. Or a slim slide out keyboard and possibly a 3D joystick for things like a N64 games.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17.08.2010 23:42 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Submission: thanks, I'm glad you like it. :)

The keyboard and the WLAN are already wireless so one could easily use wireless xbox360 controller with this. Those can be found for older xbox too and they can be adapter to work via USB connector.

I was planning on making the part under the controllers moveable, so you could pull out the keyboard and mousing area. I did get two sets of those slide rails that they use in drawers etc. but they were bit too long to fit inside the cabinet. I then planned on making the ceiling hinged and hide the keyboard there but later decided to use that wireless keyboard&mouse combo for the overall ease of use. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18.08.2010 14:55 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 16.04.2005 22:03
Posts: 4
What are the dimensions of the machine?

Would there fit two set of controllers?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19.08.2010 14:11 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 25.03.2004 11:12
Posts: 10
+1 for dimensions :wink:
Front/side picture of the cabinet with some added dimensions would really help to get things started.
(I trying to "sketchup" my cabinet, but I just can't make the dimensions to look natural)

MarceL; jus a thought: for occassional 2-player games you use USB-connected gamepad?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19.08.2010 20:30 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
I'll shoot couple of photos and take the measurements for you tomorrow. I moved the cabinet to my work so I can get my coworkers to do some gaming. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20.08.2010 20:42 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
And now we have the dimensions. There are some areas that are not measured on this but you should get started with these. Measurements are in millimeters!

Image

High resolution version


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20.08.2010 21:36 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 20.08.2010 21:25
Posts: 1
Hieno on ja inspiroi taas harkitsemaan oman ikuisuusprojektin eteenpäinvientiä! Näyttöpaneeli on ilmeisesti irrotettu jotenkin alkuperäisestä kotelosta, kuvista en ihan saanut selvää että miten näytön piuhat ym. on vedetty? Olisiko tuosta operaatiosta mahdollista saada tarkempaa kuvausta tai löytyykö netistä tietoa moisesta hommasta?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21.08.2010 08:03 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Vilkaises tämä:
http://metku.net/index.html?path=mods/transtft/index

Eli siis otin vain kuoret pois näytön ympäriltä. Varmistin, että näyttö on sellainen, että se käynnistyy automaattisesti verkkovirran saatuaan ja näin ollen minun ei tarvinnut vetää näytön näppäimistä mitään painikkeita kabinettiin. Eli kabinetin sisällä on vain tuollainen irtonainen lattakaapelin pätkä ilman niitä näppäimiä.

Näyttösignaanli tulee ihan tavallista 15-pinnistä vga-kaapelia pitkin ja virta tulee tavallista virtakaapelia pitkin.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21.08.2010 11:06 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 25.03.2004 11:12
Posts: 10
Thanks for the picture with dimensions.
Just one more clarifying question; are those given figures dimensions of the side profile or the "actual" box?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group