Metku.net

MetkuMods
It is currently 20.08.2014 17:36

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: question
PostPosted: 25.02.2003 21:45 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 23.02.2003 18:41
Posts: 70
Location: Estonia
what do you mean: Power connector for the transformer? What transformer?? :? :oops:

_________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 25.02.2003 22:12 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Just a regular wall adapter / transformer:

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 25.02.2003 22:42 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 23.02.2003 18:41
Posts: 70
Location: Estonia
aahhh...yees now i understand :D

_________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 25.02.2003 23:06 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 23.02.2003 18:41
Posts: 70
Location: Estonia
but i cant understand how the wires go in to the potentiometer what wire goes to what connection?? :?: :? :oops:

_________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 25.02.2003 23:59 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Center leg of the potentometer goes to the base (center) leg of that BC547. There are still two legs left on that potentiometer and other goes to the commong ground like all of these components and the other leg goes to the plus wire coming through that 7812 and also connects to that BD442 emitter leg.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 26.02.2003 17:07 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 23.02.2003 18:41
Posts: 70
Location: Estonia
ok, but will a stereo potentiometer do?

_________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27.02.2003 09:23 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Just use one "side" of it and it should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28.02.2003 18:37 
Offline
Junior Modder
Junior Modder

Joined: 08.02.2003 21:37
Posts: 9
Location: Estonia
i finished the modlab, took out my multimeter, and hurray i got 5v in the first one, tried to check the 2nd one, and boohoo! it wasnt workin. i tried to check if the problem was in my soldering job, but it wasnt. then i checked the fuse. it was broken. whats that all about?one moment it works, the second it doesnt.? :? by the way im Miku, just in the moment at kofkus place :wink:

_________________
o_O


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28.02.2003 19:08 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
It is hard to say why it didn't work. Maybe you shorted some connections with those multimeter leads or something. Just go through those connections again to see what is wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28.02.2003 21:10 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 23.02.2003 18:41
Posts: 70
Location: Estonia
i got the ModLab running just fine without the fuse( i gotta buy a new one). but some how my 12V isn't 12V, its 10.93. and my controllable voltage is 10.53 :? even though the adaptor gives 12.53 volts....

_________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28.02.2003 21:19 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
I think that the transformer is giving too low voltage. That regulator needs slightly higher voltage than 12 volts so it can regulate it to 12 so you just have to find a transformer that gives higher voltage. <=15 should do the trick. That 11 volts should be enough for most mods anyway so you have to decide if you want to spend some money for that higher voltage transformer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28.02.2003 21:32 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 23.02.2003 18:41
Posts: 70
Location: Estonia
ok, ive been checking out those transformers, they dont cost that much. but you had a 12 volt transformer, didn't you? but does it depend on the amperes also?

_________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28.02.2003 21:38 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 24.01.2002 10:09
Posts: 4683
Location: Finland
Yes, I have 12 volt transformer but like I said it doesn't matter that much if the output for the mods is 11 or 12 volts. But if you want to make sure it is giving 12 volts, get that higher rated transformer. I just didn't remember to mention that in the article because I didn't measure the output voltage that accurately.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28.02.2003 21:43 
Offline
Mini Modder
Mini Modder

Joined: 23.02.2003 18:41
Posts: 70
Location: Estonia
ok, good, im happy enough cuz it works :lol:

_________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons." - Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group